We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience. Most of these are essential and already present.
We do require your explicit consent to save your cart and browsing history between visits. Read about cookies we use here.
Your cart and preferences will not be saved if you leave the site.


30 Jahre - Inventionen VII (1982-2012)

Label: Edition RZ

Format: 2CD+DVD

Genre: Experimental

In stock


* Five hours of electroacoustical compositions, recorded during the first thirty years of the Berlin festival “Inventionen”. Box set with two audio CDs and a multichannel (surroundsound) DVD * Mindblowing two re-releases of Edition RZ LPs that are now available in this double CD box with additional tracks, as well as a mainly acousmatic DVD that features electronic tracks by a variety of electroacoustic composers. The present DVD contains mainly acousmatic music. This is when a pure "tape piece" is interpreted live by an elaborate loudspeaker orchestra (the Acousmonium); all possibilities of depth scaling, localization, sound movement and dynamics are exhausted and, based on broad experience and knowledge, various tricks for adapting to the space are devised and expertly implemented. (This is where the title "Music for More Than ne Loudspeaker" derives from, which also served as the title for the Inventionen festival 2008 and 2010.) The acousmatic genre has its origins in the Ina-GRM (Institut national de l'audiovisuel - Groupe de Recherches Musicales, Paris); "invented" in 1974 by François Bayle, it strongly influenced electronic music in Canada and Belgium as well as studios in England (including the BEAST) and of course also the Elektronisches Studio der TU Berlin and the Inventionen festival.

Taken as a whole, the DVD offers the interested listener an invariably exciting and varied arc of individual creativity. The first part of the DVD (Tracks 1-10) contains acousmatic works which are then followed by three electronic works (11-13), the extensive speech composition by Trevor Wishart (14-17), and Bohor (18) which also reaches the highest volume. At the end, as an encore, are Sukhi Kang's Inventio (19) and Rolf Enström's /Thomas Hellsing's "Bildspel" Fractal (20), which are re-releases from the legendary LPs ed.RZ 3002 and ed.RZ 3003.

The two CDs are rereleases of the LPs ed.RZ 3002 and ed.RZ 3003 and the ed. RZ 3001 Ricardo Mandolini 'Elektroakustische Musik' LP with extra tracks. Biographies and program notes are shortened in the booklet; extended versions, where available, are contained on the DVD as PDF files.

 Includes music by Jonty Harrison, Daniel Teruggi, Hans Tutschku, Francis Dhomont, Gilles Gobeil, Scott Wilson, Kotoka Suzuki, Hanna Hartman, Richard Barrett, Pei-Yu Shi, Kees Tazelaar, Trevor Wishart, Iannis Xenakis, Sukhi Kang, Rolf Enström, Ricardo Mandolini, Takehito Shimazu, and Bogusław Schaeffer. DVD is region free, NTSC format.

Cat. number: ed. RZ 3006-3008
Year: 2012
Made in Austria. Each of the three discs comes in a glossy gatefold card sleeve, and are packaged together in a glossy cardboard box, with a sixty-eight page booklet, and a twenty page Edition RZ catalog.